Back to top

Principles of Trauma-Informed Care 

Principles of Trauma-Informed Care

POAH’s Designing Trauma Resilient Communities project utilizes The Missouri Model Principles of Trauma-Informed Care, which focuses on 5 key principles: safety, trustworthiness, choice, collaboration, and empowerment. According to the Missouri Model, the principles are defined in the following way: 

icon: safety


Ensure physical and emotional safety, recognizing and responding to how racial, ethnic, religious, gender or sexual identity may impact safety across the lifespan. 

icon: Trustworthiness


Foster genuine relationships and practices that build trust, making tasks clear, maintaining appropriate boundaries and creating norms for interaction that promote reconciliation and healing. Understand and respond to ways in which explicit and implicit power can affect the development of trusting relationships. This includes acknowledging and mitigating internal biases and recognizing the historic power of majority populations. 

icon: Choice


Maximize choice, addressing how privilege, power, and historic relationships impact both perceptions about and ability to act upon choice. 

icon: Collaboration


Honor transparency and self-determination, and seek to minimize the impact of the inherent power differential while maximizing collaboration and sharing responsibility for making meaningful decisions.

icon: Empowerment


Encouraging self-efficacy, identifying strengths and building skills which leads to individual pathways for healing while recognizing and responding to the impact of historical trauma and oppression.

The five principles were initially based on Creating Cultures of Trauma-Informed Care (CCTIC): A Self-Assessment and Planning Protocol; Community Connections; Washington, D.C. Roger D. Fallot, Ph.D. and Maxine Harris, Ph.D. April, 2009. 
The revised Missouri Model Principles of Trauma Informed Care were approved October 2018 by the Missouri State Trauma Roundtable. 



Back to top